Maple Stairs in New Construction

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Maple Stairs in New Construction

a friend of mine is building a new house and has asked me build the stairs, finished maple.

ive finished plenty of stairs, capping stringers, scribe trim to the the walls etc etc, but ive never built closed stringer stairs from scratch, plenty of open stringer stairs though

the framing carpenter is the same, plenty of open stringers, deck stairs, temporary stairs and so on

our treads will be 1 1/8 hard maple, im gluing them up now. we intend to use 2 by spruce stringer material covered with 1/4 inch maple ply. 1/2 maple ply for the risers

hints, tips are welcome, framer is well informed about the codes and the geometry and im a very picky finish carpenter

stair well is actually very straight, tapers less than 1/4 inch over 12 ft, wall on one side ends at the third step going up, so 3 steps will be open on that side
    my shop is a beaver lodge
    steve, sarnia, ont

1940's Craftmaster Lathe

https://www.facebook.com/artistryinwoodca/
  • Thread Continues Below...

Re: Maple Stairs in New Construction

As far as I'm concerned building a set of housed stringer stairs is the most satisfying job you can do in carpentry.

There are a few tricks and 3 simple jigs that make the job easy. First is the router jig to plough out stringers, second is a glue block jig to make 45 degree glue blocks to reinforce the joint between the tread and riser. and a wedge jig to cut a full bearing hardwood wedge for securing the tread. I have all these jigs in my shop ...... somewhere. I'll make an effort to dig them out and post tomorrow.