Insulate garage

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Insulate garage

Hello all, I've recently decided it would be a good idea to insulate my garage. The garage is a 2 car garage about 18 ft deep, attached and is one of the front corners of the house so the side and front are exterior walls and are not insulated. Above is the master bedroom. I included pictures. I have never done an insulation job before but I think I should be able to do it. The picture with the 2x4s shows part of the side wall and there is this black mesh between the wall and drywall on the ceiling I think there is insulation above. There is the garage door, and a picture of above the garage door as well as a hole I made in the ceiling near the front of the garage to run a wire for one of my security cameras monitoring the front door. The hole is underneath a roof truss where there are shingles above, the front of the master bedroom starts further back on the garage roof if that makes sense. Insulating the garage exterior side wall seems straight forward to me, just remove everything off the wall grab some fiberglass R14 insulation and staple vapour barrier on top then add dry wall over. It's more the garage door, around the garage door and the ceiling I'm wondering about. Would something like 2 of these be good for the garage door:
    https://www.amazon.ca/Owens-Corning-...oor+insulation
    ?

And for around the garage door do I just cut and put in fiberglass insulation along the narrow sides and above the garage door? Do I go above the drywall doing it? Also I assume between the masterbedroom and the garage there is insulation, but the hole I made I didn't see any above,, granted, the hole is not beneath the bedroom. Should it be insulated above the hole? I should probably see if I can take a picture above the hole to see if I can see any insulation further back.