Wood Splitter Questions

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wood Splitter Questions

I have been splitting about 20 face cords of firewood by hand for many years. I have always thought it was a good workout and was faster then using a hydraulic splitter. My shoulders, back and wife all tell me it's time to realize I'm getting old and buy a splitter, so I need some advice. I have a Kobota L3600 tractor, 38 hp. so I have been thinking on getting a tractor mount, to avoid having another motor around to service. Anyone have any experience with splitters and the advantages of the various types.

Thanks Ted

When all you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail.
  • Thread Continues Below...

Re: Wood Splitter Questions

As the years advance & the body starts to wear it may be time to think of young backs or different heating methods.
    Egon
    from
    The South Shore, Nova Scotia

Comment

Before you spend any money on the tractor mounted unit, get accurate figures for oil flow requirements. Your tractor will likely have more than enough "pressure", but if the flow rate is too low you'll spend all day waiting for it to cycle back.

Also ... check the "Splitfire" splitters. They are the most expensive splitter on the market (I think), but they are also one of the fastest due to their double acting splitter operation. I used to sell them, and I have seen them work in commercial operations, doing thousand+ face cords a year. I sold one to an old guy in Ottawa who wore out a motor and the nylon slides and the splitter was still perfect once those were replaced.

Before I sold Splitfire I sold a couple of Wallensteins .... this was almost thirty years ago, but at that time they were ..... not great ... let's leave it at that. I own a Splitfire.

EDIT :: Splitfire used to sell a tractor mount type. I sold one to a guy for use on a Kubota and it worked great ... but it was slow. I seem to think it was a 3600 model Kubota ... but it was 15+ years ago.