Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Notre-Dame is burning.

Absolutely heartbreaking.

Watching it on the large monitor in the Tech room. It's hard to believe that all the wood, carvings, art, stained glass etc. are destroyed............Rod.

https://www.cbc.ca/news/world/notre-...fire-1.5098604
    Work is the curse of the riding class.
  • Thread Continues Below...

Re: Notre-Dame is burning.

Agreed.

Early reports indicate it was likely connected to the renovation work being done.

Reminds me of the similarly started fire in Windsor castle, or more dearer to my heart, if I'm honest, the Chapman's ice cream factory! Both started by construction workers.

When I teach the carpentry course at the community college, I've often noticed how easy it is to find great resources for personal safety, safe tool handling, safety around electrical, etc, but in comparison fire safety materials don't seem to be nearly as plentiful.

Comment

I'm sick to my stomach, I studied it for a project while in art school and finally got to see it in person 5 years ago, it is devastating.
      Jerome
      Canada's South Coast

Port Colborne On.
      Every loaf of bread is a tragic tale of grains that could've become beer.......but didn't....

Comment

Absolutely horrific that such an icon is being destroyed from construction after all these years. Im sure it will be rebuilt. If there is any saving grace, its that the structure has been well documented and studied so accurate reconstruction will be possible .

A bigger question to me is considering its historic signifignance why were there no fire prevention systems in place?

Comment

Originally posted by scooby074 View Post
          Absolutely horrific that such an icon is being destroyed from construction after all these years. Im sure it will be rebuilt. If there is any saving grace, its that the structure has been well documented and studied so accurate reconstruction will be possible .