This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wanted: Lathe

I'm looking to expand my woodworking portfolio to include wood turning (not a mini lathe, first project will include spindles approx 26" in length), I've seen some mastercraft lathes on Kijiji and other makes some of which which seem reasonably well priced I'm just not sure whether they would be worth the investment, I'm not looking to spend a lot (around $200 + or -, I would also need to purchase some chisel).
    If you have anything that fits the bill let me know.

Thanks

Vince
  • Thread Continues Below...

Re: Wanted: Lathe

I have a mastercraft 37” lathe, it has treated me quite well. It is far from a professional quality lathe, but it has a lot of features that a pro lathe would have.
    -variable speed is awesome and a must have, but the slowest rpm it goes is 600 which is a little fast for bowl turning.
    - headstock does pivot for outboard turning, but it seems pretty cheap and I’m too scared to try it on mine.
    -the knobs and handles are all cheap plastic so watch out for broken knobs if you’re looking at them.
    -when you are looking at used ones, ask to see it running and try the speed control all the way up and down a few times to make sure the reeves drive are operating smoothly, unfortunately when the Reeves go I’m pretty sure you cannot get parts for them anymore.

All in all I am happy with my buy and if you’re just looking to do a few turning projects it should serve you well.
    Just keep your chisels sharp and don’t ask more of it then it can handle and you’ll be fine.

Colin

Edit****. Sorry I just realized this was in the swap meet section and figured I’d better mention that I am not selling mine I’m just offering advice ***
    Last edited by Redbull1989; 11-06-2019, 10:17 AM.

Comment

Thanks for the info Colin, I was hoping for input about what to look for in a used one.

Vince

Comment