Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which Bench Vise Should I Buy?

Hi everyone,

I'm new to woodworking and wanted some advice on a bench vise purchase. There are four that I am currently looking at (3 of which come with quick release and front stop). Could I get your recommendations please:

Lee Valley
    Eclipse (Amazon Link)
    Yost (Amazon Link)
    Tekton (Amazon Link)

Thanks in advance for your input!
  • Thread Continues Below...

Re: Which Bench Vise Should I Buy?

Hey, "two_halves",

Bench vises - in most shops - play a significant role in enhancing the efficiency of bench operations, and if made well and of subsantial materials, can easily last for generations. For those reasons, choosing one is more often related to the required (or desired) features and quality, rather than price.

I noticed that all the vises you're looking at are face vises, hence my following comments will relate to them.

I'd suggest that you need to first identify your requirements:
    - what capacity in terms of: width; height above the screw and guide posts; and max opening
    - quick action
    - swivel/rotation in two dimensions, such as one finds in Emmert and copies, as well as the Veritas Tucker Vise

Once you have your requirements hammered down, they you may begin the feature-by-feature review process.

Again, if you choose wisely, you'll have a face vise that will serve you faithfully for the duration of your woodworking career... and that of whomever comes after you.

I should close this by saying that I have both a face vise (a Vertias Tucker Vise) as well as a tail vise on my bench, both of which I find indespensible for the type of work I do.

Hope this helps you out a bit and good luck with your quest.
    two_halves likes this.
    All the best,

Marty

Secretary of Kingston Wood Artisans Inc. https://kwoodartca.wordpress.com/

Master Mistake Fixer (because I've made them all... at least once)

Comment