My #6 isn't flat...

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My #6 isn't flat...

It never really occurred to me to check the flatness of the sole of my #6... but I did so last night, and... it's quite a fair bit convex (high spot in the middle).

It's been a reasonably good performer for me, but not perfect. I've been considering replacing the blade for a lee valley one, but now that I see that it's not flat, I'm also considering trying to flatten the sole.

I've never done this before, and the orientation (convex vs concave) seems like it would be more difficult to flatten.

Any thoughts on whether I should really try it? If so, any tips on how to go about it? (Mostly I'm looking to ensure I'm taking material off the convex part, so I need to ensure I'm not rocking back and forth and actually making it worse!).

I don't really care about keeping the sides exactly 90 degrees to the sole... I'll never use a #6 as a shooter.

Cheers,
    --Jeff
  • Thread Continues Below...

Re: My #6 isn't flat...

The best way that I have found to lap something flat is to coat the sole with machinist's ink then lap away (permanent black marker will work just as well; any residue can be removed with alcohol when the lapping is done). The high spots will reveal themselves quickly and you will be able to see if you are maintaining symmetry as you lap. Convex is no more or less difficult to lap out than concave using this technique. One technique point worth mentioning is to retract the iron but do not disassemble the plane while lapping such that you have any assembly strains accounted for as you go. It isn't too difficult to ensure that the sides are maintained at 90 degrees to the sole either, assuming that the plane body is reasonably square in the first place of course.