Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

A very old plough plane - thoughts or info?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A very old plough plane - thoughts or info?

This plane was given to me by my father, who's father gave it to him - made in England. Engraving says T.S. Kaye and Sons, Hull. The 'E. Turpin' stamp would have been a former owner, I'm guessing. Does anyone know enough about these to guess it's age, or any other details of such a plane? PS - I still have the blade, it's just not in the plane right now.

thanks guys,
    Mark
    Attached Files
  • Thread Continues Below...

Re: A very old plough plane - thoughts or info?

I can't offer much, but it looks to be a fairly well made plow (plough?) plane. Very cool! There is a very good chance this was E. Turpin's prized "flagship" tool. I've never used a wood plow before, but I do understand that they take some skill and patience to use.

If you are thinking of tuning it up, take the time to learn exactly what you need to do, and how to do it before you try...

Not they type of plane you want to develop your skills on.

Way too cool!

Comment

Hi Mark,

Nice looking plow (plough).

I don't know the maker but he's probably listed in Goodman's "British planemakers from 1700". Maybe someone has a copy?

Question about the nuts. The inner nuts, are they recessed into the stock? On my plow they're not recessed, nor are they on most planes I have seen.

Darrell
      Wood Hoarder, Blade Sharpener, and Occasional Tool User

Comment

Well...this is what "British Planemakers from 1700" says:
        'Kaye, T.S. & Sons 29 George St. Hull
        <1930-1970> (which means the authors consider that the company may have been in business before and after the dates shown). An existing catalogue, circa 1930's, states "Established 1848". Listed as saw and toolmakers, merchants, cutlers and grinders.'

David

Comment

Originally posted by Darrell View Post
          Hi Mark,