Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Short stroke sliding table saws (minimax, hammer, cwi)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Short stroke sliding table saws (minimax, hammer, cwi)

Hey everyone, this coming summer Iíll be in the market for a shorter stroke sliding table saw (min 5í). Iím having some difficulty weighing options.

I work in a shop where we have a Silver 10í slider and an 8í scm. Iím used to operating industial machinery thatís been beaten up on and Iím curious if Iíd see higher quality than what Iím used to out of the pro-sumer home gamers stuff or if Iíd be disappointed with going that route.

Iíd consider having a phase converter setup if my electrician can do it and if itís allowed in my area. But for now Iím strictly looking at 5í 220v single phase.

Running contenders are: scm minimax sc2, hammer k3 winner comfort, cwi stallion s5.

Iíve talked extensively with a felder rep about the differences between hammer and felder so I feel comfortable with them. The scm meets my rip capacity spec and is kind on the eyes. The cwi stallions rip capacity is a worry area and the fact I canít find any information about the stallion series sliders.

Any input would be greatly appreciated, by all means make suggestions as you seem fit! Thanks again!
  • Thread Continues Below...

Re: Short stroke sliding table saws (minimax, hammer, cwi)

I have a SCM 350 n 10 ft slider in my shop. I would have no hesitation in purchasing a CWI Slider or as someone suggested Busy Bee are now selling Rikon. Another. Option would be Cantek. I believe they also have a 5 ft slider. I would take the Cantek over all the others including Minimax and Hammer. Cantek is the house brand of Akhurst Machinery.Cantek is made in Taiwan. Akhurst is heavily involved in the Industrial side of Woodworking and have offices across Canada. They have been around a long time and have an excellent reputation for service
    Brian