Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Table Saws: Ridgid 3660 vs. Craftsman Professional

Hi,

I'm looking to purchase my very first table saw and I'm very excited. I'm an inexperienced woodworker, and I would like to start building some furniture peices (coffe table, entertainment stand, bookshelves, etc) I've been scouring the forums and reviews for all sorts of table saws and found two that seem reputable, and within my budget: the 10" Craftsman Professional Table Saw (aka 21829 in the US), and the Ridgid 3660. They're both currently on sale for the exact same price ($499) and can't quite decide which one I should go for.

I realize that the Craftsman is a portable saw which can be neatly tucked away vertically, but space is not much of an issue for me, and the Ridgid still has a mobile base so that I can push it up against a wall. The craftsman does have a built-in router table, which is a plus ... although I don't own a router yet, and I figure maybe building one will become a project in itself. I really like the solid cast iron top of the Ridgid saw, and I like the fact that it feels much sturdier than the Craftsman.

In terms of durability, power, ease of use, etc. I don't have a clue. Trunnion, arbor assembly, motor housing, etc ... ?? Can anyone help out and give me more specs and/or opinions to help me decide? At this point I'm leaning toward the Ridgid saw, but I wanted to run it by some more experienced users (like yourselves) first.

Thanks!
    Pascal
  • Thread Continues Below...

Re: Table Saws: Ridgid 3660 vs. Craftsman Professional

Welcome to the forum! I have neither saw, but had considered their predecessors years ago, but actually took the plunge and bought my saw once and not POTENTIALLY twice by buying a Unisaw Cabinet Saw.