Entry level metal lathe suggestions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Entry level metal lathe suggestions

Been toying with the idea of a small-ish lathe for a while. I have zero experience running a lathe since metal shop in high school where we had large monarchs to work on.

I think for the kinds of work I want to/might do, something around a 10" x 24" (ish) would be what I'm after. Pure lathe operation. My neighbour has a large turret mill I can use when needed for now.

Restoring an old south bend or atlas in this size would be neat, but the ones I've seen forsale are outrageously priced.

What should I be looking for? Not trying to start a 'holywar' of one vendor or another. I've looked at a few youtube videos, but nothing has really hit the mark yet in terms of enlightenment.

Thanks!
  • Thread Continues Below...

Re: Entry level metal lathe suggestions

I think Dale at Build Something Cool on YouTube has done a video on buying a used lathe. Also you can beat This Old Tony for a laugh and some learning , he did a new Mini lathe tune up. You are going to have to go through all the parts and operations to evaluate the condition. The more any lathe comes with the better, buying accessories after the fact gets expensive.
    Keep in mind it’s not only the lathe, it’s everything that goes with the lathe. You are going to also want to do milling at some point, slippery slope,
    I have two lathes in my shop newer Asian 10x30 one and a Southbend heavy 10.
    WCraig and Andre in Quebec like this.
    sigpicToday's mighty oak is just yesterday's nut, that held its ground.

Comment