Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Where to buy 6” x 5/8” x 1/8” jointer knives?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Where to buy 6” x 5/8” x 1/8” jointer knives?

Hi, I need to get knives for a 6’’ Beaver jointer. This is my first time making such a purchase, so in case there are better brands, or places to stay away from, I could benefit from those with experience.

I found these made by Dimar.
    https://www.globaltooling.com/collec...aner-knife-set

Thanks!
    sophie
    Last edited by sophien; 06-25-2020, 08:53 PM.
  • Thread Continues Below...

Re: Where to buy 6” x 5/8” x 1/8” jointer knives?

When I was working in joinery workshops on planers much bigger 300mm wide sometimes the knives became too narrow after too many sharpens and were left sitting on the shelf useless, I took some of these cut them in half and now use them on my 150mm planer.
    Problems are, some are too wide and protrude from the cutter block too far and make more noise (beating the air) some are thicker but that still may work for you, You do have to cut them in half and sharpen the end if you rebate with them, I would say any saw doctor will have them, the Dimar knives will be good ones, search industrial knives in your area.

Comment

This is a great place for blade and bit sharpening. I think they also sell new :

Click image for larger version  Name:	goldsmith.JPG Views:	0 Size:	36.5 KB ID:	1288663

Click image for larger version

Name:	goldsmith2.JPG
Views:	121
Size:	39.4 KB
ID:	1288665

Comment

Moldingknives.com have them for a little less ($42). http://www.moldingknives.com

Pete

Comment

Sophien get in touch with Elite tools in Levis Quebec, they will cut them the lenght you want. Their is another place call Gladu in Marieville Quebec also.
          sophien likes this.

Comment

Canadian Woodworker has them in stock. You can order online. They are $30.00

Comment

Originally posted by Edmcanwoodworker View Post