Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fuzzy surface on my wood handles

Hello Everybody,

I am new to wood finishing and I hope you can give me some insight on this subject.
    I am trying to color wooden handles with two or three layers of black water-based varnish. Once the layers are dry, I dip the handle in an UV curing varnish to achieve a glossy effect.
    My problem is that I always get a fuzzy, wavy surface after putting the UV varnish.
    I tried changing the primer, water-based and UV varnishes formulations, as well as polishing the handles before adding the primer but nothing is working so far.

I can see the waves just after applying the water-based varnish (when it's still wet) or when I dip a colorless wood handle into the UV varnish, so I am thinking that the problem comes from the wood surface. I read that grain raising is a problem when using water-based varnish on wood but I don't know if that fully explains what I observe every time.

Thanks for your help!

Geraldine
    Upper handle: what I have
Lower handle: my goal my current process, leading to a wavy surface
  • Thread Continues Below...

Re: Fuzzy surface on my wood handles

Talking with no expierience but; would rotating the handles when wet help???
    Egon
    from
    The South Shore, Nova Scotia

Comment

Hi Geraldine and welcome to the forum.
      That's an interesting project, may I ask what the handles are for?
      I have no experience with UV cured materials so can't pass along any first hand fixes for your problem with the wavy surface, other than maybe the finish is too heavy a coat and is sagging during cure. It's hard to tell but the ridges appear to be following the grain direction and I'm wondering if the finish is shrinking and emphasising the grain. What wood do you use?