Fiberglassing a hydrofoil wing

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fiberglassing a hydrofoil wing

I'm planing on fiberglassing my hydrofoil wing that I made using pine.
    My wing is pritty stiff already, but i plan on making a longer and thinner wing, so putting on the right amount of layers may be important.

I have found some good videos of a step by step of how to do it( I've never used fiberglass before).
    https://youtu.be/S0HiCAUQOIE
    I think the guy in the vid uses 3.7oz glass. Dont think he mentioned number of layers but i guess it all depends on length, thickness and material.

Have heard the surfboard epoxy from plastic world would work good considering this application. They have a few different types of fiberglass but am unsure what kind to use e-cloth, s-coth?
    Home depot and others have Bondo fiberglass and resin. Not sure if that would be the right choice.

Any tips or tricks would also be appreciated.

Thanks

• Thread Continues Below...

Re: Fiberglassing a hydrofoil wing

no pic.

Noel
    "Being so impressed with the beauty of nature, I never cease to be amazed at how the
    'touch of the human hand' can transform it into another kind of beauty that is so uniquely human.
    "
    John Snow, Outdoorsman and Retired Teacher

Comment

I believe the WEST System epoxy company website may have some valuable guidance on similar issues.
      All the best,

Marty

President of Kingston Wood Artisans https://kwoodartca.wordpress.com/

Proud member of the Wadkin Blockhead Club

Comment

Click image for larger version

Name:	20181103_161106.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	4.21 MB
ID:	1220926Click image for larger version

Name:	20181103_161116.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	4.16 MB
ID:	1220927
        beachburl likes this.

Comment

I would give that a single layer of light cloth, doubling up for a few inches around the attachment point.

Comment