HVLP Advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HVLP Advice

I'm looking at buying either the Fuji Semi-pro 2 or the Mini-mite 3 (I would buy the Q3 on sale at Busy Bee instead if the sale is still running when I'm ready to buy). What's prompting this is my next project is a fireplace surround made out of MDF and painted white. I was quoted $400 to prime/spray and figured I'd invest in an HVLP sprayer. I'm a woodworking hobbyist so I can foresee future uses =). Having said that, the MM4 or 5 is a little much for my budget

1) For sealing/priming MDF, do you need to thin a shellac based primer like BIN or SW White pigmented primer? Thin with laquer thinner I suppose?
    2) Has anyone sprayed latex using the Semi-Pro 2 and what were the results?

Thanks for any advice
  • Thread Continues Below...

Re: HVLP Advice

Hello you should look longer term and get the 4 stage as 2 stage is really limited. MDF face is easy to spray but cut ends fuzz up even with bin, extra 320 grit sanding and respraying is required. Over the years I had the Fuji 4 stage and moved up to the Kremlin 15-25 which is a completely different system. If you start with a really basic system you will be tired of it really soon and resale is worse. Hope this helps

Comment

Forget of spraying latex with a 2 or 3 stage system

Comment

Google is a horrible thing. I have an Earlex and have come to the conclusonthat its better than nothing, but it feels only by a hair. I don't know if this is due to technique or just hoping to get far more out of a machine that was never designed to do it.