fill these cracks?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• fill these cracks?

big leaf maple burl with some cracks that i think i have to fill with epoxy. after treating with polymerized tung oil, i think this thing is bound to keep splitting, but since it's my first time working with a hardwood burl, i just don't know for sure. my gut tells me it's gonna keep splitting if i don't epoxy fill. what do you guys think? in one picture i sprayed it with water to see what it will look like finished.
  • Thread Continues Below...

Re: fill these cracks?

Consider stitching it up with wire that will make it a feature.
    Egon
    from
    The South Shore, Nova Scotia

Comment

Hi Earl, yes splits will always get larger, I have had some pics that would split if left without controlling that.

As a couple crotches had bark in them and I knew they would open up, so I made staples from some harder Stainless steel wire, a bit heavier than regular staples.

Drilled small holes for the staples and hammered them in, some right as I was rough turning and then removed and replaced them to a better spot afterward.

Some pictures should make that clear I think.

I als have used brass wire and laced the longer split that was already in the log before turning the bowl, turned it because it showed nice curl in the wood.

Have fun and take care
      Leo Van Der Loo

Comment

I have found that using Pentacryl slows the drying, and tends to make the cracks stop where they are.

I slather it on, and weigh it daily watching the weight drop, then stabilize.

In a paper bag or not does not seem to have made a difference, for the projects I've done this way.

So far, that's what has worked for me.
        Noel

"Being so impressed with the beauty of nature, I never cease to be amazed at how the
        'touch of the human hand' can transform it into another kind of beauty that is so uniquely human.
        "

John Snow, Outdoorsman and Retired Teacher

Comment