Food safe outdoor finish???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Food safe outdoor finish???

It is my understanding that MOST finishes are relatively food safe once they dry. Solvents that keep these solutions liquid are super toxic but I also understand that the actual thing that makes a finish tough once it dries isn't.

I am no expert on the subject OBVIOUSLY but I wouldn't mind talking about OUTDOOR finished in particular. Most people paint or stain outdoor furniture. Standard practice is to use a oil based or acrylic based finish on outdoor wood but which are actually safe for a picnic table for example???
    DanGreenLeipciger likes this.
  • Thread Continues Below...

Re: Food safe outdoor finish???

I wouldn't worry about most any finish on a picnic table if it is well cured. When I hear "food safe" I think of cutting boards and especially salad bowls, etc. where the food is in direct, extended contact. Then acidity, oils or whatever "might" extract something out of the coating. Contact with utensils etc. on the table I don't see as a problem.

Just my opinion of course.
    Frank D. and bogmer like this.

Comment

If food safe, as well as just being environmentally conscious is of concern, I would recommend Hemp oil, available from Hempola Farms (https://www.hempola.com/) just outside Barrie Ontario. I have used it extensively on indoor furniture, bowls and cutting boards as well as on my deck and patio chairs. Goes on quickly, no VOC and soaks deep into the wood and dries/polymerizes-they do a heat treatment to the oil to speed up the drying time. Plus, if I drop a bit on the ground it does not harm anything. I have been very happy with the product and the folks at Hempola are great to work with and I know I am supporting a small Canadian business.
      bogmer and Les Groeller like this.

Comment

Thank you... I have sent them an e-mail asking more about this. I am interested in knowing more.

Comment