Dewaxed shellac in Calgary

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dewaxed shellac in Calgary

Does anyone know where I can find dewaxed shellac in Calgary? I tried Cloverdal and they dont and have no idea where to look. Rone only carries white shellac. Any suggestions? I have never tried to look for this before.

Thanks
    Regards,

Greg West
    Cornel's World Terrariums
  • Thread Continues Below...

Re: Dewaxed shellac in Calgary

Try Benjamin Moore. Zinnser Sealcoat is what you want. It is used a lot by flooring re-finishers so you might want to give them a try. If you have no luck, Jeff at Wood Essence (Saskatoon) will quickly throw some dewaxed shellac flakes on the bus/courier for you. His does not come pre-mixed (need 99% pure Iso Propyl Alcohol), but he has many different shades.

How did you like the Woodweb gang? Some fairly serious fellows there.

Brad

Comment

Not as nice as the guys here. One guy basically telling me just because I can design it doesn't mean it will work and it will basically fall apart. I actually didn't get too many responses. I think I will follow the fine woodworking method they used in their article in last months issue, and go with something like the Spar that was mentioned for the inside to protect from moisture. Now I am really worried about the inside....

Greg
      Regards,

Greg West

Comment

Thanks for the reply Brad. I have e-mailed Jeff to see what he has to say about it. Hopefully he can recommend something. I also called lee valley, and he said to use the white shellac at rona but dilute it as it was 2 lb. He seemed pretty knowledgable, but at the same time told me to use a polyurethane or a minwax type product which the article recommended not to use. Hopefully Jeff replies right away. I wanted to start on it this weekend, or at least have a few test pieces to see what it looks like.
        Last edited by Greg West; 11-28-2008, 12:39 PM.
        Regards,

Greg West

Comment