Learn a newbie about oil

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Learn a newbie about oil

Hello all, I've been using Varathane for everything since I started w/w a few years ago. I like the finish (and its ease of use) but as some have commented in previous posts, the finish is flat and doesn't have that warm look that some of you get on your posted project pics.

I gingerly took the next step and bought a can of Danish Oil Finish (linseed oil) from Lee Valley. I applied three coats to some scrap pine, each coat per the instructions, but I just don't get it. I've let the pine sit of some months.
    The oil does give the pine the warm amber look (and brings out the grain) but doesn't seem to offer any protection. Water doesn't bead and there is no sheen.
    I've read in previous posts that you can let the oil sit for a year and then Varathane but others warn about mixing oil and water.

I must be missing something... do you buff the oil with another oil-based product for the protection and sheen?
  • Thread Continues Below...

Re: Learn a newbie about oil

Some products like Watco offer a wax fora topcoat. I have also used varathane over watco oil for a harder finish, but it must be very dry before applying
    In an age when scientists are creating artificial intelligence, too many of our educational institutions seem to be creating artificial stupidity. - Thomas Sowell

Comment

Oil has a bunch of uses, and there are 2 main types.

Polymerizing and non-polymerizing. Short answer is, does the oil harden in a relatively short time. Boiled Linseed Oil (BLO) and danish oil are both polymerizing oils. Vegetable oil, walunut oil are not polymerizing.

For things like a cutting board, you don't want a finish that forms a film, The chopping will just destroy that. So you can use a non-polymerizing oil and just keep refreshing it over time.