Salvaged old growth timber project ideas

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Salvaged old growth timber project ideas

A 100+ year old heritage house down the street from me is undergoing renovations and they're throwing away a bunch of true 2x4 old growth douglas-fir timber. This stuff is heavy, incredibly solid, smells amazing, and has very tight rings with a great reddish colour. I've managed to grab and clean up quite a few 4 ft - 6 ft lengths and pull out the classic nails.

I don't want to waste this wood and use it for general building material so I'm hoping you guys could offer up a couple of project ideas for this incredible wood.

I have basic tools: Skillsaw, old chop saw, router, jigsaw, drills, and a planar. I have some experience laminating and making small tables. I was thinking of making a dining table but I'm not yet very confident in making legs or edging.

Any ideas would be hugely appreciated.

Thanks
  • Thread Continues Below...

Re: Salvaged old growth timber project ideas

Guitar bodies
    A hallway bench
    coffee table

Or a cool tool cabinet for your shop

Nathan

Comment

I found an old beam of Douglas fir that came out of a building I believe, tight grain nice colour a bit of worm unfortunately, I didn't have enough to do the whole top so I put in the compass point, the top is only 8mm thick laid on MDF cutting out the laminates for the radiused edge put a bit if saw dust on the floor, I covered it with a pour on epoxy.
      About 2m long and the wide part is 900mm.
      I also made some out door chairs from Douglas fir, but as suggested above anything is possible, just draw it first and give it some thought.
      Spencer58, corpaul and iamtooler like this.

Comment

Hi, I also have some old growth Douglas Fir, here's a link to my previous post on the subject, along with a couple of projects I made from the wood.

https://forum.canadianwoodworking.co...-district-wood