Delta, King Canada, General international Table saw

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Delta, King Canada, General international Table saw

I'm a beginner for woodwork, looking for a table saw(cabinet saw) for my first project, 2 HP around, accurately, can cut hardwood (oak or maple) smoothly and easily. I 'm struggling on used Delta and new King ,General table saw because their price is same mostly and I have limited experience . Any one has advice or comments about table saw? Thanks for your time.
  • Thread Continues Below...

Re: Delta, King Canada, General international Table saw

I'm in the same boat .. been saving up planning on buying a used cabinet saw, but have also been checking out those same 3 saws. When I factor in what it would cost me to get a decent fence and fix up an older saw compared to these that come equipped with a riving knife and all, I'm pretty tempted to go the new route seeing as I'd probably be only saving a couple hundred , especially since the Kings are on sale at my local dealer. I was looking at the 2hp also, but spoke with someone who has it and while he loves everything else about the saw after 18 months with it, he wishes he had the 2-1/2hp because the 2hp bogs down a little with hardwood (but still satisfied with the saw) (the 2hp is on sale for $1399, the 2-1/2hp $1599 and the 2-1/2hp with 50" fence for $1699) ... I'm a beginner too, but I find myself in my shop for a bit each day so been thinking about the 2-1/2, but not sure if its that much better, haven't heard any direct input on it.

Comment

If a true riving knive is a must,and that's wise in my opinion,but completely up to your two,choice is made.
      if you are concerned about power,first off,do you indeed anticipate cutting 8/4 hardwood?
      i would also investigate that the lower hp saws are indeed cabinet saws,and not hybrids.

Comment