Help with DIY Patio Furniture Project

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with DIY Patio Furniture Project

Hey Everyone, first post here but I've lurked for quite a bit trying to soak up as much knowledge as I can.

I'm new to woodworking and DIY, was sorta forced into it last year when my contractor decided he liked my money in his account more than purchasing materials for our deck. So with Youtube and a handful of powertools I was able to complete the deck and railing on my own and we're very happy with it.

There was quite a bit of leftover 2x6 cedar boards from the deck and am now looking to build an outdoor dining table and a couple of dining benches with it. I'm in Toronto, backyard faces south, although I may buy a smallish umbrella for the table, otherwise it's basically going to be brutal on anything I build.

I've left the deck to weather, not going to bother with it, but for the table and benches I'd love to put a finish of some kind. My plan (tell me if I'm crazy) is to edge join either the entire table top, or have two or three sections so there is a small gap for water drainage (will use titebond 3). My wife likes dark or greyish stains, and every time I find something I think might work, I learn of how bad it can get after a few years. I don't mind adding an additional coat every 2-3 years, my fear is having to strip and start over. I've read mixed reviews on the Cetal 1, 23 system, and it seems they have about 459 other finishing products so not sure what is best. Or if it's a matter of pick any stain I like, and then the protection lair is all that matters. Not sure if Marine Varnish is a good choice, or if it's just driving up the cost and degree of difficulty.

My plan is to pain the base, so maintenance will be primarily just the table top itself.

Any recommendations on how to proceed, or...something I should avoid?

Thanks!