Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Are these workbench proportions okay?

Hi all,

I'm about to undertake a journey to build my own (and very first) workbench from pine. The issue is that I would have the bench in the garage during the warmer months, then bring it inside into the basement during the colder months. So with that said, I gotta be mindful with weight (something two people could carry down a set of stairs).

I'm about 6'1", so I'd prefer a bench with an overall height of 36" or so. For length, I was thinking 48". And for width/depth, something like 18-20". Plus I'll be adding a quick release vise on one of the long faces.

Yes, this would be a smaller bench than most of what people seem to have, but I'm just a hobbyist and only working on small projects during evenings and weekends for fun.

So my question is, would these dimensions be awkward? Is the bench too tall, given a shorter length and depth? Would it affect the stability of the bench dramatically?

• Thread Continues Below...

Re: Are these workbench proportions okay?

I have 3 benches currently. One in my shop(1/2 garage) one in my basement shop(Laundry room) and one in my cabin shop (10x12 shed) I don't know anything more about benches than you do. My favorite place to work on projects is in my garage shop on the Unisaw 4 x 5 extension table.
    I can give you advice...Whatever you build for a bench you will want to make changes shortly after it's finished. I will not ever build another very heavy bench. My garage bench is probably up around 400 lbs. I have looked closely at Ron Paulks idea's regarding benches and I like them...have a look.
    paulsz and Beaverfever1988 like this.

Comment

A depth of 20” is plenty. I’d try to go a little longer if you can. I have a 72” long bench and find myself wishing it was a bit longer on occasion.
      KenL, Kayak Jim and 2 others like this.

Comment