Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Danish oil on veneer teak coffee table - little white spots or scrapes are appearing.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Danish oil on veneer teak coffee table - little white spots or scrapes are appearing.

Hi,
    I am very very new to this. I inherited a teak veneer coffee table from my grandmother. I sanded it with 120 and 220 grit and then applied 3 layers of Watco Danish Oil. All 24 hours apart and for all, I wiped off excess with a paper towel 10 min after applying (I got that from a forum) and have now let it cure for over a week. I hadn't touched it and no one goes near it, but I noticed today that it seemed gritty on top. I sanded it with 600 grit and it is nice and smooth but I noticed the white spots/lines while I was sanding. I don't know if I just did it, or if it was there already. One picture is of the leaf that is affected, and one picture is the unaffected leaf. I don't want to sand this table anymore, I'm scared of particle board closeness. Does anyone know what this is? Should I just leave it? It isn't very noticeable. And I would love some advice on what to put on top of the Danish oil as a finish. This might become a dining room table (the way it opens up allows for that). I don't want to put on anything "slick". I like the look of it right now. Thanks so much for everyone's help!
  • Thread Continues Below...

Re: Danish oil on veneer teak coffee table - little white spots or scrapes are appearing.

Are those little white lines dust from your sanding? how about you try using a vacuum on it with a soft brush on the end it you don't have a soft brush for the vacuum just use a wide soft clean paint brush.
    When I was boat building and used a lot of teak it was common to get calcium in the grain that would show up as white spots.
    The other way to do this is if you have an air compressor you could try blowing the dust out of the grain if it is sanding dust.