Definitive thread on the Beaver 3400

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Definitive thread on the Beaver 3400

This is an idea that came to mind after going over various threads on this Canadian classic. There are several threads with lots of good information, but not a single one that has it all together. My intent is to have a timeline and approximate manufacturing dates for these machines. To help with future searches looking for information, I'd also like to include serial numbers and photos (a 3400 registry of sorts), outlining the changes that were made to the model over the years. I'm far from an expert on these and I'm counting on the more experienced members to fill in more details (and correct any errors) as the thread grows.

If this turns out to be a bad idea, well, just let the thread die...

So I'll start off with a brief history of the 3400 as gathered from the experienced posters here (Steve, Leo, etc), along with some information on the two 3400's that I have:

The model started off as being from the Callander Foundry, with a "Beaver" badge. The earliest ones had a MT2 taper in the headstock, that had a MT2 to MT1 adapter (held by a drawbolt) that had a threaded 7/8" x 14 tpi tip, onto which the spur drive screwed on. The tailstock had a solid dead center. Let's refer to this as the "Callander" version. Later on the tailstock was modified to have a MT1 taper, allowing the use of accessories such as a live center, drill chuck, etc. The serial number tag was at the bottom, outside end of the headstock, showing the model number and serial number:

Click image for larger version  Name:	20190118_143936.jpg Views:	1 Size:	3.54 MB ID:	1219745

Click image for larger version  Name:	20190118_140346.jpg Views:	2 Size:	3.89 MB ID:	1219748