Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Turning problems

Hey guys,

I have a mastercraft 37Ē lathe, has it for a while now and it has produced a fair amount of projects for me.
    Recently I have been having an issue. Trying to make a French style rolling pin for a wedding gift using Indian rosewood.
    I mark my Centers after making sure the blank is square, then run it through the table saw on 45 to cut the corners off.
    It seems good at first then seems to lose centre on the tailstock end because it starts wobbling like crazy and the pin has a major warp to it that I cannot seem to get back.
    Ruined one blank this way and I thought I just was lazy and didnít properly square the blank, but the second one I took my time and squared it good, and started with true Center and it still did the same thing.
    Never had this problem before, is my lathe out of alignment or am I doing something wrong?

Thanks

Colin
  • Thread Continues Below...

Re: Turning problems

One thing you could try is to slide your tail stock with your live center in it, up to the head stock with a spur drive in it and see if the points on each line up. If they don't, then the guide on the bottom of the tube is out of alignment.

James

Comment

It could be the point on the live centre is chewing it's way into the end grain. I use a cup live centre on spindle turning which helps it to stay on true centre. Check the alignment as James has mentioned first though.

Comment

The alignment when brought to headstock is important but if the tube frame bends it is irrelevant.

Comment

are you using a live centre or a dead centre, a live centre spins with the work piece and wont wear a hole in the end
          my shop is a beaver lodge
          steve, sarnia, ont

1940's Craftmaster Lathe

https://www.facebook.com/artistryinwoodca/

Comment

I messed around last night with it.