Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Beginner turner beginning to turn

Hi all,

I managed to cram a Rockwell / Beaver 3400 into my already overcrowded shop a few weeks back and I've been playing around with it ever since. I'm extremely new to wood turning though I have some experience with metal lathes and I've used my tiny little toy Taig lathe to turn a couple handles in the recent past.

Last night I decided to take a crack at turning a captive ring, despite a complete lack of the correct tools or experience. Please forgive the rough finish, I was mostly trying to figure out how to get the shape I wanted and didn't sand the ring while it was easy. I've got a long, long ways to go but I'm pretty chuffed at how this worked out, especially since it's a chunk of 2by from the cutoff pile and I used the tip of a skew chisel to undercut the ring.

Now I see why this hobby is so darn addictive!

-Nate

Click image for larger version

Name:	20210126_224012.jpg
Views:	290
Size:	1.87 MB
ID:	1314767

Name:	20210126_224023.jpg
Views:	334
Size:	948.6 KB
ID:	1314766
    Beaverfever1988, Roundhead and 4 others like this.
  • Thread Continues Below...

Re: Beginner turner beginning to turn

Originally posted by nolfert View Post
    Hi all,

I managed to cram a Rockwell / Beaver 3400 into my already overcrowded shop a few weeks back and I've been playing around with it ever since. I'm extremely new to wood turning though I have some experience with metal lathes and I've used my tiny little toy Taig lathe to turn a couple handles in the recent past.