Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Seeking suggestions for lathe chuck

I need a chuck for my Rikon 70-200 VSR.

I'm a novice turner, my entire output to date on any lathe is 30 or so tool handles, and I have no idea where to start looking. I don't see myself turning much other than handles, pepper mills, and other parts with diameters up to 4" and lengths up to 14".
    I found this one https://www.pennstateind.com/store/C...l?prodpage=1CU, which looks like it would suit my expected needs, but it's not local and is out of stock.

The limit to my budget is $250CAD including taxes (and shipping if not locally available in Winterpeg). I don't need anything high end or fancy, but I don't want to be stuck with junk either.

So... suggestions?
  • Thread Continues Below...

Re: Seeking suggestions for lathe chuck

That chuck looks a lot like this one without the jumbo jaws. https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B08...ref_=pd_gw_unk

I just got one and so far am pleased with it.

Comment

Originally posted by tool fan View Post
      That chuck looks a lot like this one without the jumbo jaws. https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B08...ref_=pd_gw_unk
      I just got one and so far am pleased with it.
      I like it, especially the price...

The one thing I should add is that I would like a set of jaws that can close smaller, at least down to 1/2" diameter, if possible... as well as the tenon jaws for larger pieces.

Comment