Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Buying first table saw - Would like input

Hi All,

I'm new to woodworking and finally have my own shop and I've started stocking it with tools to begin my woodworking journey.

At this time, I don't have the expendable budget on this new hobby to justify hundreds of dollars on a table saw, nor do I live in an area where great older saws often come up for sale. So, my options are typically the fairly cheap table top saws (Mastercraft, King, Craftsmen) that are available for around $50-100.

However, I came across this saw locally. The seller is asking $200, but I'm confident I could negotiate down to $150. The idea of a contractor saw rather than a table top one is much more appealing. But I also don't want to buy junk.

Does anyone have any experience with Craftsmen contractor style saws? From what I can tell, this unit is a Craftsmen 315 series model. I've attached a picture to show the saw.

Thanks in advance.
  • Thread Continues Below...

Re: Buying first table saw - Would like input

thats a huge step up from the typical big box store saws.
    im pretty sure that saw is the same as the ridgid 3650(now discontinued) but now sold by busy bee

$200 is fair, might need a good blade or two
    my shop is a beaver lodge
    steve, sarnia, ont

1940's Craftmaster Lathe

https://www.facebook.com/artistryinwoodca/

Comment