CNC for beginners

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CNC for beginners

I am in the market for a 4x4 or a 2x8 cnc machine.

I have NO CLUE what I am getting myself into I would want to know the known pitfalls and what I should be looking for when looking for a CNC machine.

I am not afraid of building the thing myself and I have never been afraid of electronic work in general. I am NOT a programmer so something that accepts user friendly programs would be nice and what are those user friendly programs named.

Where can I find open source G-code and the like.

Feel free to add your own questions if you have some. The more questions and answers on this subject the better.
  • Thread Continues Below...

Re: CNC for beginners

https://forum.canadianwoodworking.co...affordable-cnc

Here is a thread in the CNC forum (under the Power Tools Forum on here) from last fall in regards to somebody else looking for a CNC. There might be some older threads in there as well with the same type of discussion. Some good information in there and maybe not a lot has changed. I still support the Workbee as it is the one I use and am happy with it although it sounds like the current situation with Covid has driven shipping prices way up if you buy through Bulkman 3D which is what I did. That may make other options from Canada and US more attractive price wise. A lot also depends on the size you want.

In regards to software I have Vetric and really like it and I had no experience prior to buying my Workbee. The bigger question is what are you planning to do with it which will dictate size you need as well as software you need and in turn budget you need.
    Jamie www.turneddesignsbyjamie.etsy.com

Comment

I think that the first question to ask is how much is your budget. Then fit the CNC into your budget.
      Are you planning to put out some signs, one off parts or small production pieces; or are you planning on doing full cabinets from sheets of plywood.