Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How loose should a dado be?

Hello

I'm making a cabinet that's assembled entirely using dados. I've cut them to be just a couple of hairs bigger than the planks, so that I can insert them without hammering, but they're not loose.

Today I started gluing it, did just 4 of the dadoes. I used Titebond III, which I've never used before. I spread the glue with my finger - a very light coating on both sides. Then the problem. It was incredibly difficult to insert the pieces into the dadoes. I had to clamp them very hard and hammer them with a scary amount of force just to make sure they're in all the way.

What did I do wrong? Do you think the dadoes should have been looser in the first place? Or is Titebond III particularly tacky? Or is it possible that the Ash expanded enough to make a difference after I stained and applied water-based poly (the dado parts were taped)?

All I can think to try is to to sand the dadoes on the other side a bit, and use Gorilla glue. I've not had this problem with that glue in the past. But I've also never made a dado in the past

Thanks in advance.
  • Thread Continues Below...

Re: How loose should a dado be?

Did you do a dry fit before applying the glue?
    I think that, yes, you should have dry fit and sanded or ever so slightly increased the size of the dado and dry fit again to see how tight it was.
    Sanding is probably all it needed.
    I have never had a problem with Titebond III.
    Previously Wallace's Dad

Comment

I find that all Titebond glues set real quick. In making kitchens I make a lot of panels and a few doors. If when putting even doors together inserting the rails into the stiles you need to act quickly as a hesitation will result in the joint setting up and as you experienced you have to clamp the hell out of it to get it tight. I switched from Titebond 3 to original Titebond which some say gives you more time .
      Brian