Renting Time on a Large Planer (pieces are 35" wide & 16' long) - GTA

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Renting Time on a Large Planer (pieces are 35" wide & 16' long) - GTA

Hi all, I am new to woodworking and just purchased a couple of live edge black walnut slabs which I will be using for our countertops.

Are there any shops in the Mississauga area which rent time on large planers?

I am aware of one, but it is a bit far: The Kopper Mill Inc. in Ajax, not sure how to get the slabs all the way there; only have a smaller SUV.
  • Thread Continues Below...

Re: Renting Time on a Large Planer (pieces are 35" wide & 16' long) - GTA

You're gonna have to transport it, if it's in Ajax or Mississauga. How were you going to do that?

Have you thought about flattening at home with other methods? like a large router sled?

Legacy Lumber is in mississauga
    smallerstick likes this.

Comment

Thanks Scott, for the transport, I was thinking of renting a truck so lower mileage would be preferable.

I'm just starting out so don't have much in the way of tools or a work shop yet. Using a large planer seemed like the the easiest and most convenient way of doing this.

Comment

Call first to ensure they will allow you to plane something you brought in. Local shops around here won't unless you purchased the wood from them.

Comment

Skip a truck, and go for a trailer.
          djnelson, LeftFinger and Wood Grower like this.
          [insert something witty here]

Comment

I would go for a router and sled. Good excuse to get a router and the experience will be worthwhile.
            ZeroCool248 and Kayak Jim like this.
            The difference between a master and a beginner: The master has failed more times than the beginner has even tried.

Comment

The amount it cost me for new blades I am always skeptic when somebody asks me to plane something. Who knows what is in that wood and at least if it's my fault I can be ok with taking the blame.