Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Kumiko Nixie Clock

Hi all!

I've been busy with making this Nixie Tube clock with a kumiko panel on the front. I've never done kumiko before but I can see the appeal: It's pretty relaxing.

https://youtu.be/LIkUUtoEK3A

The box is tiger maple, with a red/brown dye to accentuate the figure. I used shellac for the finish. The box is made with miters, no reinforcement needed as the clock really wont see a whole lot of handling in it's life. I didn't want to interrupt the grain with splines, or anything like that.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Clock 1.png
Views:	237
Size:	970.3 KB
ID:	1325475

Let me know if you have any questions!

Cheers!
    Les Groeller, mikeddd and 5 others like this.
  • Thread Continues Below...

Re: Kumiko Nixie Clock

Do you know something we dont ?
    Looks like its a doomsday countdown clock.
    I like it.
    • “The greatest lesson in life is to know that even fools are right sometimes.”Winston Churchill

Comment

Some other pictures from other angles would be good. Looks nice from the front, but I bet even nicer from the top and sides.
      Previously Wallace's Dad

Comment

Never heard of a nixie clock before this. Where do you buy the parts/ kit? (Edit: OK, watched the video. I got it. I don't understand it, but I got it)

Nice job on the kumiko.
        Last edited by Kayak Jim; 04-07-2021, 04:44 PM.

Comment

Another one bitten by another bug, what next?
          More pictures please.
          Very nice, thanks.

Comment

Beautiful work. Nice to see a card scraper put to use on difficult grain. Most videos would skip that part. Like the river epoxy too. Look forward to more of your work.
            Anyone who doesn’t think money grows on trees hasn’t bought any lumber lately.

Comment

Always loved Nixies, I had a Hickock digital meter that had a removable plug in for function, with the Nixie display above.

I had a DC volts, OHMS, and capacitance plug in....