Beginner Hand Tool Build Thread - Hard Maple Chisel Plane

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Beginner Hand Tool Build Thread - Hard Maple Chisel Plane

As the title says, I am a complete beginner, as I have never built my own hand tool before (except for a mallet!!). This thread will document my upcoming attempt at creating my own chisel plane. As the name suggests, this is a very special plane, in that a chisel is used as the blade, with a wedge to hold it in place.

This will be a step-by-step, picture heavy build thread, so stay tuned! I will begin working on the plane tomorrow (Friday, August 21st), and will hopefully finish before the end of the contest!

Wish me luck. I'll need lots of it.
    "By failing to prepare, you are preparing to fail." - Benjamin Franklin

"The foundation of every state is the education of its youth." - Diogenes
  • Thread Continues Below...

Re: Beginner Hand Tool Build Thread - Hard Maple Chisel Plane

Good luck, Igor.

Many woodworking historians hold the idea that planes initially evolved as jigs to hold chisels. Then irons and planes were adapted and changed form to suit specific tasks. But the basic form is still there.
    Mark Kornell, Kornell Wood Design

Comment

Looking forward to it Igor.
      Jerome
      Canada's South Coast

Port Colborne On.
      Every loaf of bread is a tragic tale of grains that could've become beer.......but didn't....

Comment

I finally have a chance to update this thread. I have completed the build, so the update will be from start to final shave . Let's take a look at what I have!

I started by selecting a piece of hard maple that would look good. Then, I designed the proportions of the hand plane to suit the 1/2" chisel I am using; and make the future plane comfortable and easy to use.

The second step involved cutting out the body of the future plane.