Building my new (Timber Elegance) Studio

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Building my new (Timber Elegance) Studio

I am finally getting myself out of the basement and into a new workspace. I am not very good at recording things, but I will try to keep this updated as I go along.

With thanks and a shout out to Paolo (pmtottawa), for his work and help in designing it, I finally got permission from the township, and the project has started.
    The building will be 15'x30', laid on 6x6 beams and a gravel pad.

First step was to clear the area. It took a couple of weeks and and a lot of sweat equity. All the brush and non burning sized trees were mulched up to use on the trails through our back property. The Ash in the picture was dead and had to come down. A local guy I know with a mill took the bottom section which is 24" Diameter and about 8' long. Dead straight and clean. He is going to give me back a board so I can make a sign for my Studio.

We laid in some conduit underneath where the gravel will be poured, to accommodate running all my electrical out.
    Next came the gravel guy. Planned on Min 18" of 3" crushed, topped with 4" granular A. Due to a couple of calculation ooops on my part, we ended up closer to 26" total at the minimum. Because of the slope, the rear ended up over 30". Its all good though, I liked how it ended up closer to the level of the front driveway, it has a cleaner look. All total about 190 tons.

Next up, is to get my materials in and start building. Haven't decided yet if I will use vinyl siding or board and baton. Trying to find somewhere local that does the board and baton, to get a price. I am trying to keep it inexpensive, as this project has a rapidly expanding budget.

Hopefully I can keep things updated regularly.