Workshop Construction Building Code

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Workshop Construction Building Code

I am about to build a workshop at the cottage (basically a garage 24X24). I am an experienced amateur having built several large sheds and even our cottage before it was an organized township. I now have to deal with a building inspector and have been trying to get up to speed on the requirements of the Ontario Building code, nailing requirements for the various structural elements as well as other things. I have been reading through the code to try and avoid problems with the building inspector but you almost require a law degree to get through it. Does anyone now a simplified source for the code requirements that is in plain English.

The Cujman
  • Thread Continues Below...

Re: Workshop Construction Building Code

I cannot help with the simplified code source but suggest that you arrange a visit with the building inspector. I have found two types, those are are happy to help and those who seem to feel they are part police (as in gestapo!). Chances are good you will get lucky.

As the very least he will tell you about the things that he will be most interested in, he may even point out a book that will meet your needs. If you plan to do your own wiring get a copy of the Simplified Code book available at most big box stores and connect with ESA early,

As you know knocking out a building is a great source of achievement and pleasure!

Best of luck!

Comment

https://chbanl.ca/wp-content/uploads...nstruction.pdf

http://www.penntruss.com/pages/pdfs/TJ-9503.pdf
      Last edited by Mark Nowicki; 04-21-2019, 02:49 PM.

Comment