New Shop Heating?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Shop Heating?

I am in the process of constructing a new 30'x40' WORKSHOP/garage (I think it's a workshop - my wife thinks it's a garage, so it will become a garage full of woodworking tools with no room for a car).
    My dilema right now is what heating system to use. My preference is for in-floor radiant heating (I have not poured the slab yet) but I keep getting warned against it for several reasons. The one that scares me the most is, I'm told that the cost of operating a radiant floor system is very very high. The other concern I have, is floor settling and potential damage to the piping. Anybody had experience with this type of system and can offer some advice or alternatives?
  • Thread Continues Below...

Re: New Shop Heating?

I've had some experience with in-the-floor heating, and recommend it when it is concrete slab on grade construction. By this I mean heated pipes containing antifreeze in the concrete connected to a boiler. If the slab is well built, with rebar and on soil that isn't going to shift on you, Why not use it? Lance

Comment

Terry: I have in-floor radiant heat in the basement slab, and at one time considered closed loop systems for garage, shop, and driveway but gave up on that idea because of cost.

On the slab preparation I would suggest compacting the soil if it has been disturbed, next about 6" gravel (¾ clear), then 6 mil poly, next 2" closed cell styrofoam, next 9 ga. wire mesh. The tubing is tied onto the mesh and pulled up into the concrete slab during the pour. If 2" styrofoam is not in the budget, at least use an aluminum foil bubble pad (I don't recall the name at this time) so that the heated slab doesn't radiate down.

A bit of cracking will happen unless you can make control joints without cutting into the tubing, but cracks and minor settling will not damage the Pex tubing.