Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Karcher WD5/P - Possible alternative to Bosch, Fein, Festool Vacs?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Karcher WD5/P - Possible alternative to Bosch, Fein, Festool Vacs?

So I ordered one of these vacuums from Costco, and have had it for about a week now. I wasn't able find out a lot on the Internet before purchase, but decided to give it a whirl:

https://www.costco.ca/K%C3%A4rcher-W...100340415.html

It appears that Amazon and Home Depot also carry them at a higher price.

Let me preface this by saying that I have no experience with Festool vacs other than gazing at them longingly at Lee Valley. I'm very happy with the two Festool sanders I have, and based on that would like to get a CT26 eventually, but at 1/4 the price, I figured it was worth giving the Karcher a shot. Besides, Costco has a very good return policy if the quality is lacking.

That being said, so far I'm pretty impressed, especially at the price point. So far I've used it for some general cleanup and about an hour and a half of sanding. I also used it to vacuum the house for the hell of it as the accessories from our old Miele vac fit.

PROS:

The power tool takeoff works very well with sanders. It has a warning to put no more than a 6a load on it, so not sure if it could handle a mitre saw,etc.

Variable suction is great for sanding, and is varies enough from the low end to full power to be useful.

Filtration isn't HEPA rated but it seems to work well. It uses a fleece bag and automotive type paper filter. No visible dust is escaping. There is a tiny amount inside the canister which is only visible if wipe your fingers across the plastic. Filter is also accessible without opening up the canister.

Power-seems to have plenty

Quiet - in my opinion it is very quiet, can't hear it over the sander running in any case. Tested it with the db meter on my phone and it was 79 db at high power and around 69-70 at the lowest.