Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Need some advice on a compact dust collection system.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need some advice on a compact dust collection system.

Hello Everyone,

Spring cleanup time and... my shopvac won't turn on I've been using it for dust collection for a few years now and it works okay, but I'm looking to get something to replace it that will work much better. 99% of my time is spent wood turning and I use an Airshield pro as my main protection. Anyway, my biggest issue is space. The shop is an 8X12, and I've got around 17"X22" clear for the system (wall mount is fine). Height wise there is around 6', 5" of clearance as I have an ambient collector currently hanging above my shopvac. I'm hoping the new system will do a better job with the finer dust and had planned to either store, or sell the ambient collector after getting something new.

I saw these things last time I was at KMS, but was told they are rubbish:

http://www.kingcanada.com/detail/dus...5?cid=35&mid=7

KMS wise, this is about the only one I have space for (still a touch too deep thought):

http://www.kingcanada.com/detail/dus...0?cid=35&mid=7

So under $500CAD, super compact, and as quiet as possible in that price range. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. The Rockler wall hanging collector looks to be perfect, but I need it within a few days (and their shipping is insane!), so something local would be ideal (Calgary Alberta).

Thanks everyone.
    Last edited by Boy_Narf; 03-23-2018, 08:11 PM.
  • Thread Continues Below...

Re: Need some advice on a compact dust collection system.

Your right the smaller single use ones are junk. The bigger one would be better if your using it to just do turning for sure.
    https://www.facebook.com/gregsreinventions2016/

Comment

Space really is an issue. I need something extremely compact for this workshop.

Comment

alright decided I'll probably just get a shopvac with a hepa filter.