DC Cabinet vs. Contractor saw

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DC Cabinet vs. Contractor saw

This post is part observationI, and part question.

I have been using a new to me General 650 cabinet saw for a couple weeks now... not a lot of use either... I built an extension wing table for the saw, and finished some drawer faces from another project...

Anyway, I was surprised by how much sawdust has accumulated in the cabinet in just 2 weeks when I compare to my General International contractor saw which I had been using for the past 2-3 years.

I was moving the contractor saw in the shop today and thought I should clean it out first, I was impressed by how little dust has accumulated.

I always thought a cabinet saw would have better collection, and I do need to increase the dust port size from 4 to 5"... but I didn't think the difference would be so great.

2 weeks Cabinet sawdust accumulation:

Click image for larger version

Name:	20190319_111202.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	5.88 MB
ID:	1229403

2-3 years Contractor sawdust accumulation:

Name:	20190319_111229.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	5.60 MB
ID:	1229404
    ​​​​​​

The cabinet saw has ramp that slopes down to a 4" dust port, and then connects to a 5" line.
    The contractor saw has a 5" pipe just below the blade assembly.

The contractor saw also had a super custom back cover to contain the dust:

Name:	20190319_111451.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	5.15 MB
ID:	1229405

I wonder what would make such a difference?

Interior volume difference?

Proximity of DC intake to dust source?

4" vs 5" connection?

Super custom back cover?

What do you think? How well is dust collected from your cabinet saw? How do you do it?

I'm planning to modify the collection on my new saw soon. I know some newer saws have a dust shroud that runs up to the blade. Is that worth it? Or should I get something like a 5" bell mouth flange connection and just collect from the bottom? Should I just leave it 4"? The dust is in the cabinet anyway?