2hp DC motor gave up the ghost?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2hp DC motor gave up the ghost?

I have a 10yr old 2hp "Powersonic" (KMS brand, I think) DC that will no longer start, just winds up for a few seconds and then trips the house (20amp) breaker. The impeller spins freely, no noise from bearings etc, nothing else visible is wrong. (ps I did check the breaker, it's fine)

Question: is it likely to be even worth it to get the motor repaired? Or is this one of those situations where it's just as well to buy a new, or rebuilt one?

If the latter (silly question, I'm no mechanic) do most such motors have a standard mount and dimensions? Or does buying a new motor mean reconfiguring the whole DC to accept the new motor? If I have to reconfigure everything, its probably just worth my while to buy a whole new DC.

Thanks for any help you can give me!

• Thread Continues Below...

Re: 2hp DC motor gave up the ghost?

The only repairs that are economically viable are changing the capacitor & the centrifugal start switch, and that's if you DIY. The capacitor is easy, the switch requires motor disassembly. If you have to pay a shop to do the switch, it probably isn't worth it.

For a replacement motor you need the same frame & shaft size in order for it to just bolt on. The old motor is probably a standard frame configuration.

Comment

There is usually a little bump on the side of Single phase motors (sometimes two or three). Make sure all power is disconnected. There should be a removable cover and underneath capacitor/s. The capacitor is probably burnt out under that cover. Be careful these things hold a charge that can be dangerous.
      For every action there is an equal and opposite reaction.
      Sir Isaac Newton.

Comment

On the motor plate there is a box called frame. The frame size indicates shaft diameter and height as well as mounting configuration so any motor with that frame size should interchange.
        Rob

Comment