Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Small diy dust collector for minimal use

Hi all,

I've seen people use box fans and furnace filters to make diy dust collectors.

I was thinking of doing something a little different. Given I have no experience in these, I figured I'd ask if anyone here could see any potential issues with what I'm proposing.

I do strictly hand tool work, and up until now it was all outdoors. But I've brought the workbench and tools in for the winter. I noticed a bit of dust on some of the surrounding items in the area of the basement where I'm working. And so, I want to build a small dust collector just to help with that.

First option: exhaust fan to filter bag
    Click image for larger version

Name:	20191105_161805.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	2.80 MB
ID:	1257706

Second option: exhaust fan to duct piping to a box with a filter pad. Holes would be drilled into the box after the filter, for ventilation.

Click image for larger version

Name:	20191105_161759.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	2.03 MB
ID:	1257707

Do you guys think any of these options could work?
    Attached Files
  • Thread Continues Below...

Re: Small diy dust collector for minimal use

A filter bag will just catch the big particles & let the dangerous sub-micron ones pass through. Makes the air look cleaner, but it's still just as dangerous for your lungs. Something as simple as a decent box fan with a good HEPA furnace filter secured to the inlet side will work.
    paulsz likes this.

Comment