FREE SAMPLE ISSUE FREE NEWSLETTER DIGITAL ISSUE PREVIEW

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: No ground wire on old 1/4 hp motor?

  1. #1

    Default No ground wire on old 1/4 hp motor?

    Hi guys,

    I just picked up an old 1/4 horse motor for my lathe. The crazy thing has a toggle switch on it! The plug on it currently is older then me. 2 prongs, no ground. No green wire evident beneath the switch either. I'm obviously going to update the wire and bypass to the toggle switch to the power switch for my lathe.

    Should I just loop the ground wire from the lathe switch around one of the screws for the motor cover plate? Should I just not bother to connect it at all (on either end)?

    The current wiring set up works (and has worked I assume for 40 years?). I just want to update it without potentially shocking myself down the road in case something goes amiss.

    Thanks for any tips,
    Cheers
    Erron.
    ---
    The grain has more direction then me sometimes.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Orangeville, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,435

    Default Re: No ground wire on old 1/4 hp motor?

    Run the ground to the motor's chassis. While looping it under one of the screws that hold the it together would work, a crimped lug would be nice.
    Mike in Orangeville, ON
    http://ifonlyyouwood.blogspot.com/

    SPCHT

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    733

    Default Re: No ground wire on old 1/4 hp motor?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike Graham View Post
    Run the ground to the motor's chassis. While looping it under one of the screws that hold the it together would work, a crimped lug would be nice.
    "would be better"

  4. #4

    Default Re: No ground wire on old 1/4 hp motor?

    Thanks Mike. I've got lugs and a crimper and will use them. If you hadn't made that suggestion I probably would have forgotten all about it.

    Cheers,
    Erron.
    ---
    The grain has more direction then me sometimes.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Burlington
    Posts
    1,652

    Default On the end of the motor

    Is there not a ground screw? Alot of older motors had a ground screw on the end of the motor. Personally unless your turning some pretty small stuff a 1/4hp is not much power.

Similar Threads

  1. I need help wiring my bandsaw for 240V.
    By JPlourde in forum Shop Electrical
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11-19-2007, 09:08 AM
  2. I think my table saw just died!!
    By Charles in Lorette in forum Power Tools
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 02-22-2007, 11:05 AM
  3. Anyone know how to wire a motor?
    By JohnSo in forum Shop Electrical
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-14-2006, 10:53 AM
  4. ATTENTION: Cyclone builders in need of a motor>>>
    By Steve In Kemptville in forum Dust Collection
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 07-23-2003, 07:53 AM
  5. 230 volt motor wiring ....
    By Woody in forum Shop Electrical
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-26-2001, 07:06 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •