FREE SAMPLE ISSUE FREE NEWSLETTER DIGITAL ISSUE PREVIEW

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Planer Dilemma: Ridgid R4330 vs. Dewalt 735

Default Planer Dilemma: Ridgid R4330 vs. Dewalt 735

Well, I'm not expecting any kind of revelation from you guys, but sometimes I just need to share the dilemma I'm in. I have decided it's time to upgrade from my 10" Ryobi lunchbox planer to a real planer, and had kinda settled on the Dewalt 735 13" planer. It has lots of nice features and many good reviews. I like the dual speed, and the fact that according to FWW it has significantly less snipe and smoother final finish than most of the competition. Then along comes HD and offers the Ridgid 13" planer for $300, a full $200 under the best price I can get on the Dewalt. Any opinions out there???
    Hans Braul
    SPCHT

Default Re: Planer Dilemma: Ridgid R4330 vs. Dewalt 735

I have no experience with either but if you're going from a 10" Ryobi to either of those you are upgrading. Will saving $200 make you happy with the Ridgid? If the $200 is not enough to avoid the regret of not getting the 735...
    Cheers,

Martin

Well ....I'm never one to be without an opinion...What do you expect to see from the 735 that is worth $200 more?? I own a 734 and it's a fine little planer. Personnally there is not much difference in any of the 15 amp lunchbox planers from the major brand names. None of these will last a lifetime with serious use, they are all SCREAMING LOUD, some have better chip ejection than others, and ALL do a good enough job. Unless you are willing to spend $1500 to $3500 for a real 3 hp planer that can eat wood all day 24/7, then save the $200 and buy some nice figured wood.
    I think the 735 is a nice planer but expensive as a lunchbox planer and too wimpy to be considered a real planer....and it's certainly not "portable".
    Paul