FREE SAMPLE ISSUE FREE NEWSLETTER DIGITAL ISSUE PREVIEW

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Throw my Mitre Saw in the river?

Default Throw my Mitre Saw in the river?

Hey everyone. This is my first post here although i've been following along on the forum for quite a while. I finally have a question:

I will be reorganizing my shop in the coming months. I'm relatively new to woodworking and my shop has kind of grown without much thought given to layout, dust collection, etc. I have a very small shop.

I've been thinking of building a mitre saw station against one of my walls and rigging in some sort of dust collection. My mitre saw is my worst dust spewing tool by far so i'd like to get something figured out in terms of dust collection, but space is a concern. Rigging up one of those big gulp things behind the saw isn't really an option.

Anyway, i was thinking, maybe i don't need my mitre saw in the shop? Couldn't i just do all my crosscutting on the table saw with a decent mitre gauge or crosscut sled? (I don't have either right now)

What do you guys think? This would be great since I could eliminate a space-eating tool from my cramped shop. Also, dust collection on the table saw seems easier. It seems to me that some woodworkers must survive without a mitre saw in their setup, but i'm not sure. I just don't know if i'm going to run into situations where i would be saying, "Cr*p, i need my mitre saw to make this cut. I'm an idiot."

Thanks!
    Mike

Blog Entries

Default Re: Throw my Mitre Saw in the river?

I too have a small place for my shop. Here's my set up for my mitre saw. It's not perfect, about 80% collection, which is far better than zero.

Welcome to the forum btw.

Mitre Saw Dust Collection 003.JPEMitre Saw Dust Collection 004.JPE

Mitre Saw Dust Collection 001.JPEMitre Saw Dust Collection 002.JPE
    Kevin