FREE SAMPLE ISSUE FREE NEWSLETTER DIGITAL ISSUE PREVIEW

Thread: What finish to use over dyed flooring pieces

Default What finish to use over dyed flooring pieces

Hi guys. I'm new to finishing and trying to learn why a person would choose oil vs. water etc.
    I'm making some floor transition pieces that divide my ceramic kitchen with my laminate flooring in the hall. I've used analine dye on the red oak to match the dark brown of the laminate and now I need to finish it.

I tried wiping on some minwax polycrylic stuff I had in the basement but it just wiped off the dye. I re-dyed but I assume that stuff was water based and it reactivated the dye. I have some shellac to try and seal over the dye but it also seemed to wipe off a bit of dye. I'd rather just spray on a sealer so I don't risk rubbing off any dye.

Do you guys know what I should try? Can you explain your suggestions so I might learn a bit?

After the sealer what should I use as a final finish? Water based, oil based etc. I did some searching and people keep saying 'oil is a terrible choice for any floor finish'. Why is that? When you wash the floor with pinesol or other cleaners would this be an issue?

Should I be careful what I use as a sealer and with my finish so they're compatible? Oil based spray to seal so it doesn't reactive the dye, then non-oil based finish becasue for some reason people say it's terrible.

I just checked minmax website: "Minwax® Polycrylic® is not recommended for use on floors." << It doesn't say why !
    Last edited by Bob R., Ottawa; 06-21-2009 at 12:43 PM.
    Why do people keep calling me Rob?

Default Re: What finish to use over dyed flooring pieces

I used aniline dye on oak (desk), then sprayed coats of Varathane diamond polyurethane, seems to be holding up well.

Is that water based or oil?

oil based, does not effect the dye that way.

I've used the poly-crilic stuff once, with terrible results. Since then, I don't ever recommend it.