FREE SAMPLE ISSUE FREE NEWSLETTER DIGITAL ISSUE PREVIEW

Thread: Craftex

Default Craftex

Are Craftex tools from Busy Bee any good? I am looking at some of their brad nailers. I am an occasional hobbyist - I like to build things around the house like the odd computer desk, shelves, deck, fence etc.

Thanks
    RC

Blog Entries
    Real Name
    Ummmm....Frank? :-)

Default Re: Craftex

The only Craftex nailer I have personally used was during a shootout of pin nailers for the other magazine a while back. It was actually my pick as "best value". It wasn't as loaded with features as my "top overall" pick ( a Grex), but considering it was like 1/20th the price, I didn't really expect it to be .
    I dream of a better world, one where chickens can cross roads without having their motives questioned.

Real Name
    Ryan

Rapidcut --

Ryan Sherville is being humble. google up his website and take a look at his gallery. While looking, remind yourself that his shop is full of craftex. That should be all the evidence you need to know that if you've got the skills, craftex certainly won't hold you back.

There is no way to generalize that one line is good or bad. Each line has its strengthes and weaknesses. In terms of nail guns, the number one wearable part is the firing pin. An inexpensive gun will be a low grade of steel. A quality gun will be european steel heat treated. This goes to the how long the tool will last. From their you look at ergonomics, machining, parts availability, etc....

Whatever your decision makes sure you lubricate the gun before and after you use it. This is especially important for tools that are used infrequently.