FREE SAMPLE ISSUE FREE NEWSLETTER DIGITAL ISSUE PREVIEW

Thread: finish for walnut?

ben Guest

Default finish for walnut?

Hi, I'm making a jewelry box of american walnut, and wondering what finish to use. I was thinking of putting a few coats of oil finish, like tung oil, but last time I used tung oil on a small cupboard, it stank for months (it was the Circa tung oil with dark stain in it), but maybe the clear tung oil would not smell? Anyone has experienced a good finish for black walnut?

Thanks

Ben

P.S: I'm a hobbyist trying to minimise mistakes, learning the hard way sometimes becomes really irritating...

Jamie in Brantford Guest

Default Re: finish for walnut?

I made a walnut jewelry box and used 1/3 BLO, 1/3 varsol, 1/3 polyeurethane, and 1/3 TLC. Turned out good. I later used Johnson's Paste Wax on it and it was even nicer.

Ken_in_Regina Guest

Oil ... either polymerized tung oil or boiled linseed oil (BLO) ... is one of the nicest ways to finish walnut. The oil gives it a deep rich color and if you have the patience you can apply a few coats and buff it up to a nice soft lustre. Or you can use hard paste wax over just a coat or two of oil and buff the paste wax up.

Or you can use a wipe-on poly over just a coat or two of oil and select the shininess you want. Two or three light coats of wipe-on satin poly will give you a nice natural look without looking like plastic and it will be so thin a film that your piece will still feel like wood.

Only time and air will get rid of the smell of any oil based product.

Or you can cover it up with something that doesn't smell. Clear shellac, water-borne poly or spray-on lacquer will all do the trick.

In any case, to get the best finish you need to let the oil (tung or BLO) cure completely before doing anything over top (wax or poly).

ben Guest

Great information, thank you very much, apreciated.

I think oil then wax looks interesting...

I'll get some at LV and try on a small piece.

Good day