FREE SAMPLE ISSUE FREE NEWSLETTER DIGITAL ISSUE PREVIEW

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Old garage door opener with dip switches

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Keswick, Ont
    Posts
    1,090

    Default Old garage door opener with dip switches

    This is a long shot but.... I have an old Craftsman garage door opener with only one working remote. This opener works based on 9 dip switches in the remote as well as the opener. I found a used second remote which is the same part number as the original. I matched the dip switch setting in the second remote but it still does not open the door. Does anyone happen to know if there is something else that needs to be done to connect the remote with the opener?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    IcandrivetoOttawa
    Posts
    3,871
    Real Name
    Bill

    Default Re: Old garage door opener with dip switches

    I would think it should work OK. I don't have an old Sears but have an old Stanley with DIP switches and it just says set both the remote and motor unit switches the same.

    Pardon me for some obvious things:

    Are you sure you have the 2 remotes in the same orientation for duplicating ths switches.

    Is the battery good?

    Flip each switch several times - one may have a dirty contact.

    Is there a light on the remote that comes on when the button is pushed and does it illuminate?

    You might try setting a totally different code in the motor unit and the remotes such that the codes are the inverse (what was an on switch is now an off switch and vice versa). This might correct a problem if one of the switches isn't closing properly.

    billh

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Mount Hope Ont.
    Posts
    7,534
    Real Name
    J.P.

    Default Re: Old garage door opener with dip switches

    Is the battery good?
    Are you sure the second remote even works?

    Change the code (dip switches) completely. There may be a bad switch. Choose a new code and match all three.
    Try extending the antenna with a piece of thin wire. It's a black or gray wire hanging down out of the opener. Doing this rarely works but occasionally you get lucky.

    Shot in the dark.
    Get VERY close to the opener (inches). Try it. If it works...
    Open the remote. Look for a small tube with a wire wrapped around it (about 3/4" to 1" long by about 3/16"d). Some have a hole in the case to access the tube from the outside.
    Find a hex key that fits in the hole in the tube. Turn the tube in either direction about 1/4 turn. Remove the hex key and try the remote. If distance improves, continue adjusting in the same direction and fine tune (back and forth 1/16 turn) until you get the best distance you can get.

    If distance gets worse or remote stops working close up, return the tube to the original position and try again in the opposite direction.


    If it doesn't work up close...
    Do the same but hold it very close and adjust until it starts working (no guaranty it will) then tune it in.

    ALWAYS remove the hex key before pressing the remote button or all you're doing is wasting time on a ladder.


    You may not have that tube in your remote. It depends on the model and age of the remote. Look for a small component that looks like it will take a small flat screwdriver (potentiometer). Adjust as above but in smaller increments and never more than one turn in either direction. DON"T FORCE ANYTHING

    This may not work at all so...
    In either case, keep careful count of the turns so you can return it back to the original position if adjusting doesn't work.

    Try it out and let me know. If it doesn't work I'll see what else I can come up with. The make of the opener would help. Model numbers mean nothing to me but approximate year might help. A picture is worth a thousand words.

    Worse case...I have a link around here somewhere for a company in the US that sells remotes for the older models. That's still no guaranty they'll work.

    EDIT...ooops. I missed the Craftsman part. Forget about the picture.
    Edit again... I see Bill beat me to a few of the same suggestions.
    Last edited by J.P. Rap; 09-13-2010 at 09:10 PM.
    J.P. Rap Mount Hope Ont.
    Carpe Ductum (Seize The Tape)


    "In this world, you must be oh so smart, or oh so pleasant." Well, for years I was smart. I recommend pleasant. Elwood P. Dowd

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Keswick, Ont
    Posts
    1,090

    Default Re: Old garage door opener with dip switches

    Thank you for the suggestions. It turns out two of the prongs from the dip switch came lose from the circuit board. I reheated the joints and now it is working.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Mount Hope Ont.
    Posts
    7,534
    Real Name
    J.P.

    Default Re: Old garage door opener with dip switches

    Hmmm. That's the first I have heard of that happening.

    Good for you.
    J.P. Rap Mount Hope Ont.
    Carpe Ductum (Seize The Tape)


    "In this world, you must be oh so smart, or oh so pleasant." Well, for years I was smart. I recommend pleasant. Elwood P. Dowd

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Keswick, Ont
    Posts
    1,090

    Default Re: Old garage door opener with dip switches

    What is odd is that the original remote that stopped working had the same two prongs break lose from the circuit board as new "old" one I just bought.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Old garage door opener with dip switches

    So now you have three remotes? I hope you have a big garage!
    BOB

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Keswick, Ont
    Posts
    1,090

    Default Re: Old garage door opener with dip switches

    True but one is held together with an elastic band so that will be the parts remote.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,006
    Real Name
    Steve

    Default Re: Old garage door opener with dip switches

    Try it out and let me know. If it doesn't work I'll see what else I can come up with. The make of the opener would help. Model numbers mean nothing to me but approximate year might help. A picture is worth a thousand words.
    Made by Chamberlin (sp?)
    http://forum.canadianwoodworking.com/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=12450&dateline=127309  6828 Wood Wreck - Structural framing specialist.

Similar Threads

  1. Garage or Stand-alone shop?
    By Mike in Penetanguishene in forum Shop Related Discussions
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 08-03-2010, 10:51 PM
  2. Help...Broken Garage Door Spring
    By John in Calgary in forum Home Improvements
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 11-14-2008, 12:42 AM
  3. My Garage Workshop
    By Pinnocchio in forum Shop Related Discussions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-23-2008, 06:50 PM
  4. Garage Shop setup problems
    By Pinnocchio in forum Shop Related Discussions
    Replies: 50
    Last Post: 08-25-2008, 10:22 PM
  5. Hello I am new here! Garage problem...
    By Pinnocchio in forum Shop Related Discussions
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 08-07-2008, 08:31 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •