FREE SAMPLE ISSUE FREE NEWSLETTER DIGITAL ISSUE PREVIEW

Thread: Help! staining birch 7 POPLAR ESPRESSO

Default Help! staining birch & POPLAR ESPRESSO

I'M NEW TO WOOD WORKING AND I BUILT SOME SHAKER CABINET DOORS AND I CANT GET THE WOOD TO TAKE THE STAIN MOST OF IT WIPES RIGHT OFF, i even used a prestain conditioner. the doors are made of birch and poplar because that is really the only thing I can get in town and I want them to be a dark espresso color

Default Re: Help! staining birch & POPLAR ESPRESSO

My experience only -- I'm sure others will have some ideas. First, although conditioner is recommended for birch to reduce blotches, I've found that it also prevents the stain from going on as dark. I've had good success with Varathane Gel stains with no conditioner -- it doesn't penetrate as deeply as non-gel, and doesn't seem to blotch. Second problem could be that you're sanding too finely. The finer you sand, the less the stain seems to absorb. 150 - 180 is probably fine enough before staining (experiment first). Third, although I've never used it, others on this forum have recommended using a dye to get a real dark colour.

...Wayne

I havent sanded at all i have been trying it on scrap, dye isnt available where i live but one of the paint stores recommended rite clothing dye as a base

Do you have spray equipment??? If so you can use a spray stain very easily.

yes i do, i used to paint cars. what would be the steps to doing it . and i want it almost black

Emery Village in Toronto (401 and Weston)

I suggest you do a good search in the finishing section....this topic, expresso, dark stain, ebony, black (or any variants of the above) has come up many times in the last year or so.... and there is lots of good information to be had instantly.